About

Aim and Scope

Journal of Tourismology (JoT) publishes two issues per year; one in December and the other in June. JoT is an open access journal without any submission or processing charges or fees that aims to be a comprehensive and innovative publication for scholars to present views and ideas at international level on key issues that shape tourism knowledge and industry from past to present.

The objectives of the journal are: (i) To present the latest disciplinary/multidisciplinary set of views and trends on tourism; (ii) To contribute a deeper understanding of international tourism devolopment; (iii) To create and disseminate knowledge by providing insights into developments, issues and methods in tourism research

JoT strongly encourages scholars and professionals in the tourism to share their ideas and research through the journal.  Submitted papers should not have been previously published nor be currently under consideration for publication elsewhere. All submissions are double blind refereed which takes on average 6 weeks. The journal's contents reflect its integrative approach - theoretical, empirical or policy-related papers, discussion of current issues, case studies, reports, book reviews, research notes and forthcoming meetings might be submitted to the journal. The topics of journal include (but are not limited to) the following:

  • Tourism theory
  • Tourism research and methodology
  • Advances in tourism development, planning and  policy-making
  • Tourism education and its role in managing tourism development
  • Economic/social/environmental/cultural impact of tourism and sustainability
  • Hospitality, gastronomy, transportation, attractions, recreations, leisure studies
  • Tourism industry, marketing, organizational aspects, technology
  • Cross-cultural differences- tourist and traveler behavior
  • Tourism sociology and psychology
  • Alternative and special forms of tourism
  • Terrorism, safety and security in tourism
  • Globalisation and tourism
  • Future of tourism

Editorial Management

Editors

Mehmet Erkan (Prof.), Department of Tourism Management, Istanbul University, Istanbul Turkey
E-mail: tourismology@istanbul.edu.tr & journaloftourismology@gmail.com

Fusun Istanbullu Dincer (Prof.), Department of Tourism Management, Istanbul University, Istanbul Turkey
E-mail: tourismology@istanbul.edu.tr & journaloftourismology@gmail.com

Gurel Cetin (Assoc. Prof.), Department of Tourism Management, Istanbul University, Istanbul Turkey
E-mail: tourismology@istanbul.edu.tr & journaloftourismology@gmail.com


Production Editors

Begum Dilara Emiroglu (Res. Asst.), Istanbul University, Department of Tourism Management, Turkey. E-mail: begum.emiroglu@istanbul.edu.tr

Mehmet Altug Sahin (Res. Asst.), Istanbul University, Department of Tourism Management, Turkey. E-mail: masahin@istanbul.edu.tr


Metholodology Editor

Hossein Olya​ (Dr.), Tourism Management, Faculty of Business, Oxford Brookes University, UK. E-mail: holya@brookes.ac.uk


Language Editor

Elizabeth Mary Earl, İstanbul University, School of Foreign Languages (English). E-mail: earl.beth@gmail.com


Editorial Board​​


Ali Faizan (Asst. Prof.), Florida State University, USA. Email: fali@fsu.edu

Amir Shani (PhD), Ben-Gurion University of The Negev, Israel. Email: shaniam@bgu.ac.il

Arta Antonovica (Profesor Contratado Doctor), Universitad Rey Juan Carlos, Spain. Email: arta.antonovica@urjc.es

Ashish Dahiya (Prof.), GD Goenka University, India. Email: drashishdahiya@gmail.com

Dimitri Iaonnides (Prof.), Meet Mid Sweden University, Sweden. Email: dimitri.ioannides@miun.se

Doğan Gursoy (Prof.), Washington State University, USA. Email: dgursoy@wsu.edu

Fatma Fusun Istanbullu Dincer (Prof.), Istanbul University, Turkey. Email: fusunid@gmail.com

Hamira Zamani-Farahani (Asst. Prof.), Islamic Azad University, Iran. Email: hzfara@gmail.com

Hossein Olya​ (Dr.), Tourism Management, Faculty of Business, Oxford Brookes University, UK. Email: holya@brookes.ac.uk

Ismail Kizilirmak (Prof.), Istanbul University, Turkey. Email: ikizilirmak@yahoo.com

Javier De Esteban Curiel, (Titular de Universidad), Universitad Rey Juan Carlos, Portugal. Email: javier.deesteban@urjc.es

José Antonio C. Santos (Asst. Prof.), University of the Algarve, Portugal. Email: jasantos@ualg.pt

Mehmet Erkan (Prof.), Istanbul University, Turkey. Email: journaloftourismology@gmail.com

Mithat Dincer (Prof.), Istanbul University, Turkey. Email: mzdincer@istanbul.edu.tr

Orhan Akova (Prof.), Istanbul University, Turkey. Email: akovaorhan@hotmail.com

Osman Demiroglu (Asst. Prof.), University of Istanbul Bilgi, Turkey. Email: demirogluc@yahoo.com

Sehnaz Demirkol (Asst. Prof.), Istanbul University, Turkey. Email: sdemirkol@istanbul.edu.tr

Stanislav Ivanov (Prof.), Varna University, Bulgaria. Email: stanislav.ivanov@vumk.eu

Suleyman Beyoglu (Prof.), Marmara University, Turkey. Email: sbeyoglu@marmara.edu.tr


*In alphabetical order by name


Editor-in-Chiefs

Fusun Istanbullu Dincer (Prof.) & Mehmet Erkan (Prof.)

Adress: Department of Tourism Management, Faculty of Economics, İstanbul University. Beyazit, Fatih, İstanbul Turkey.

E-posta: tourismology@istanbul.edu.tr


Managing Editor

Gurel Çetin (Assoc. Prof.)

Adress: Department of Tourism Management, Faculty of Economics, İstanbul University. Beyazit, Fatih, İstanbul Turkey.

E-mail: gurelc@istanbul.edu.tr